Getting a Moon ready for the Moon Meet – Part 2 in a Series

Well, it’s the second week of this project and I am already behind in what I had hoped to get done. However part of my excuse happened when Jean Magre brought over his 1911 Model 30 Roadster engine in boxes to clean up the parts and it was too much not to explore through all the boxes to see what he had. Jean’s getting the 1911 engine and the roadster cleaned up for Moon meet in March. It will be one of the cars that we will have on display on our Moon Meet Sunday tour.
Ok, I digressed enough from reporting on my progress on my 1925 Series A Roadster. This week I finished up cleaning the oil pan, painted it and re-installed it on the car. In the pictures below you will see that I already had my first mistake when I twisted off one of the bolt heads to one of the pan bolts. I think I have extras bolts but I will have to get the broken one out first. I then filled the transmission and rear end with a 600w type oil that I use with my Model A’s.
Next, while the car was up on the lift, I decided to pull off the gas tank to check it out. While the gas tank looked fine from under the car, once I pulled the tank down it was another story. I had managed to free up the drain plug earlier and nothing drain out. I thought this was a good sign until I tried to poke a small screw driver up the hole only to find out that I could not push pass whatever was in the tank. With the tank down (It was heavy), I found that it was about 1/3 full of rock hard varnished gasoline. Above that, where the moisture collected, the metal walls of the tank had rusted out some holes and were only held together by the undercoating that was on the outside of the gas tank. This is the second tank that I have had to deal with that had this problem.
I should stress that anyone storing a car for any length of time should either completely drain the gas tank or if it’s only for the winter months, then fill the tank to the top and include some gas treatment additive like sta-bil to keep the gas from varnishing up and causing problems.
You know the old saying that “Sometimes it better to be lucky than good”. In the case of the ruined gas tank I was lucky. When I bought this car about 18 months ago there were a lot of extra parts that came with the car. The original owner had acquired extra Moons back in the 50’s and 60’s and had stripped the cars of their parts before they were junked. One of those parts was another gas tank. When I went back to my parts racks where I keep my extra Moon parts I found the gas tank and upon inspection of it I found that it was a gas tank for Series A Moons from 1925-28. I was lucky because the 1924 Series A tanks were different as you will see in the pictures below. My other lucky part was the fact that this extra tank was in near perfect shape both inside and out (other than a very old dead mouse left in the tank from long ago). I cleaned the tank up and plan on using it for this car.
This was all I had time to do this week because of other work on my shop where I keep the cars and as I said before, I had some fun in helping Jean with his 1911 Model 30 engine and a little trip to a machinist to see what he needs to do with rebuilding the engine.
Next week I hope to lower the lift and start checking out some of the engine components and the radiator. Stay tuned.
REMINDER – Have you sent it your reservations for the Moon meet yet? Do it now so you won’t forget!

About mooncars

Moon Cars
This entry was posted in Getting my 1925 Series A Roadster running!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting a Moon ready for the Moon Meet – Part 2 in a Series

  1. Jorge Angel Lopez Sanchez says:

    Muy bueno el artículo, saludos.

Leave a Reply

